Addictions / Christian / Uncategorized

Drinking Alcohol: Substance Abuse or Godly Hobby

substance abuse or godly hobbie

In my last post in ‘Substance Abuse or Godly Hobby’,  I talked about smoking cigars. Let me say, I was very blessed by it!

Today I want to talk about another controversial christian topic; drinking.

To start things off, I want to state that I am not discussing the topic of getting drunk, but the topic of having a drink or two.

In the days before I was saved, I was a chronic drinker consuming a not only unwise, but also expensive amount of alcohol a day. I was addicted to getting drunk, high, or whatever it took to make me forget about the negative life I was living and creating for myself.

Nowadays, I have a very qualified and educated perspective on drinking.

God created alcohol to be enjoyed and consumed, OR not be enjoyed or consumed, but never to be abused. (Notice the ‘or’ in the statement. That indicates a choice.)

Observe these scriptures that pro-christian-drinking advocates will bombard you with:

Psalm 104:14–15 “You cause the grass to grow for the livestock and plants for man to cultivate, that he may bring forth food from the earth 15 and wine to gladden the heart of man, oil to make his face shine and bread to strengthen man’s heart.”

Ecclesiastes 9:7 “Go, eat your bread with joy, and drink your wine with a merry heart, for God has already approved what you do.”

Isaiah 62:8–9 “The Lord has sworn by his right hand and by his mighty arm: “I will not again give your grain to be food for your enemies, and foreigners shall not drink your wine for which you have labored; but those who garner it shall eat it and praise the Lord, and those who gather it shall drink it in the courts of my sanctuary.”

These verses from scripture are not God telling us we should drink. They are God telling us if we WANT to drink, we are ALLOWED to drink. It is a choice we can make, thanks to our freedom only offered by the grace of God.

In the Bible, Jesus drank. Many people even called him a drunk, and a glutton. He was personally involved with the people who needed him. The people who needed healing. He drank alcohol with people, he ate with people. He brought God’s love to the parts of the world that would otherwise not receive it, because at the time religious elites were opposed to their way of life and would not associate with them.

At this point I want to make my thesis statement on the topic. As Christians it is neither unholy nor a sin to drink. We can confidently appreciate the blessing of alcohol God has created for us.

Now I want to discuss a few scenario’s in which I believe it is unwise to drink, and yes these are the standards of which I hold myself to:

  • If it causes someone else to stumble, I believe we should refrain from drinking. This includes drinking around minors, a recovering alcoholic, or a believer trying to remain abstinent from worldly substances.
  • If we are using alcohol as a crutch to distract us from our problems, or pains.
  • If we are using alcohol to rebel or reinforce our free-will.
  • If we feel convictions or hesitation about the appropriateness of our own drinking. (God will plant these feelings within us when we are sinning on our personal walk. Controversially I believe certain things are sinful for certain people, and not necessarily others.)

If we are moderate and Godly in the way and amount that we drink, I believe drinking is a very beneficial and blessing-filled hobby that our creator has made for us.

I pray that this blog post has helped you understand what God intends for us, his believers in the context of drinking.

God bless you!

**BONUS**

Let’s discuss our favorite drinks. For me, I have a different taste than Jesus, can’t handle the wine, too bitter.

I enjoy a nice cold beer (Alexander Keith’s or more often Olands! Sometimes a stout.) If we’re talking about hard liquor, I like an aged maple whiskey, mixed with a bit of vodka on ice!

I can hear the Judas Priests rapidly typing religious condemnation to my inbox now.

Leave a Reply

