Christian / Struggle / Uncategorized

Hardships: “Why is God Doing this to Me?”

As of late, I have been having the worst luck you could possibly imagine. A few night’s ago I locked my keys into my car after work and ended up walking 12 miles to my friends house to spend the night. Just in case that wasn’t enough, last night I blew a tire on my way home, and ended up having to put on the spare right on the side of the highway while hundreds of cars zip by, inches from my head. All the while for 2 weeks now I’ve been fighting a lung infection, or something of the sorts.

All of these things happening to me have inspired a lot of thinking, prayer, and meditation.

“Why is God going this to me?”
“What did I do to deserve this?”
“When will it end?”

I believe the perfect answer is in James 1:2-4

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

Thinking about that, I take a completely different perspective towards the trials in my life. I’ve lost faith and interest in God many times before, admittedly. Is this another chance to choose him over the world? If that’s the case, I am excited to choose him!

So just like Job in James 1, I’ve learned patience this week. I’ve also learned faith. The thing about faith is that the only way to know if you have faith or not is to be tempted by unfaithfulness. Perhaps this is an area I should work on?

God knows I’m tempted each and every day, and it’s just so easy to give in, isn’t it?

Now all I have to do is get another key cut for my car, and buy a new tire and put that on. Perhaps my season of trials is almost over, or perhaps it’s just beginning. There’s no way of knowing until I live through more of it!

Thank you for reading this memoir of my frustration! If you can relate, know it will not last forever.download (1)

Courtesy: blog.autoshopper.com

Leave a Reply

